Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

ACCC | November 17, 2016

Scroll to top


ACCC Duke Repeats Division II Men’s TTT

ACCC Duke Repeats Division II Men’s TTT
Kyle Bondo

OGDEN, UT — The 2013 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships began Friday with the time trial in Antelope Island State Park. With 400 competitors from over 100 schools, competition for Stars-and-Striped jerseys is increased.

On a sunny day with temperatures just over 60 degrees, the teams contested the 33-kilometer team time trial in the morning before competitors vied for national titles in the 20-kilometer individual time trial in the afternoon. This marked the first time the individual time trial was among the events held at the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships.

Team Time Trial
Three of the teams that won the team time trial at the 2012 event successfully defended their thrones at this year’s event. Marian University became the new Division I men’s team time trial national champions, unseating the defending champions, Fort Lewis College. The Marian University Knights team time trial riders, Jos Chalmers (Indian Harbour Beach, Fla.), Stephan Hirsch (Watkinsville, Ga.), Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.) and Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind.), registered a time of 42:06.93 to win by 14.15 seconds over Lindenwood University. Fort Lewis College placed third with a 42:43.98 mark. Stanford University was fourth and the University of Colorado-Boulder finished fifth.

The Knights retained their spot as the country’s best Division I women’s team time trial squad. Marian University’s Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wis.), Allie Dragoo (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, Fla.) and Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif.) were the last Division I women’s foursome to ride. They wasted little time finishing the team time trial, completing the course in 48:46.76 to win by 1:08.69 over the University of California-Davis. In fact, the next three finishers were California-based schools as Stanford University placed third and the University of California-Berkeley finished fourth.

Duke University repeated as the Division II men’s team time trial national champions after besting the field by over 47 seconds. Blue Devils riders Robert Ferris (Durham, N.C.), Matthew Howe (Raleigh, N.C.), Michael Mulvihill (San Francisco, Calif.) and Matthew Rinehart (Durham, N.C.) recorded a time of 42:37.95.

“The team time trial encapsulates collegiate cycling because it’s a true team effort,” Duke men’s coach Rusty Miller said. “We train for the team time trial every week, because this is the event we love, and so to repeat as national champions in this event means the world to us.”

Schools from Colorado filled three of the top five spots in the Division II men’s race as the U.S. Air Force Academy placed second, Colorado Mesa University finished third and Colorado School of Mines placed fifth. Massachusetts Institute of Technology was fourth.

The women from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology also defended their national title in winning the Division II women’s team time trial on Friday. MIT’s four-rider unit of Shaena Berlin (Cambridge, Mass.), Christina Birch (Somerville, Mass.), Katie Quinn (Cambridge, Mass.) and Katherine Wymbs (Cambridge, Mass.) executed perfectly, finishing the 33-kilometer course in 51:03.40. Whitman College finished its team time trial nearly four minutes slower than MIT to claim second place. King College placed third.

“Without much wind it was a very different ride from last year,” Quinn explained. “But we stayed disciplined in our effort all the way out and back. It’s fun to put everything out there with your teammates.”

[Read the full article on USA Cycling]

2013 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships
Team Time Trial Standings
May 03, 2013
Ogden, Utah

Team Time Trial
Division I Men

1. Marian University 42:06.93
2. Lindenwood University +14.15
3. Fort Lewis College +37.05
4. Stanford University +1:14.22
5. University of Colorado-Boulder +1:17.78

Division I Women
1. Marian University 48:46.76
2. University of California-Davis +1:08.69
3. Stanford University +1:23.78
4. University of California-Berkeley +1:29.66
5. Lindenwood University +1:37.96

Division II Men
1. Duke University 42:37.95
2. U.S. Air Force Academy +47.82
3. Colorado Mesa University +56.50
4. Massachusetts Institute of Technology +1:20.73
5. Colorado School of Mines +1:48.64

Division II Women
1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 51:03.30
2. Whitman College +3:53.74
3. King College 4:32.11
4. Colorado Mesa University +6:13.20
5. Mars Hill College +6:37.20

[Photo by Christopher See]

Atlantic Collegiate Cycling Conference
The Atlantic Collegiate Cycling Conference (ACCC) is a collection of cycling clubs representing colleges and universities from Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia and North Carolina. We are one of eleven conferences that make up the collegiate program of USA Cycling, the national governing body of cycling in the United States. Our athletes compete in road, mountain, and cyclocross racing throughout the academic year at the conference level with hopes of qualifying for the USA Cycling Collegiate National Championships. For more information, please check out the ACCC website.